Murray To Represent UNB/AUS

Murray To Represent UNB/AUS

(OTTAWA, ON) - (CIS) - Canadian Interuniversity Sport unveiled its roster for a two-game exhibition series, between CIS men’s hockey all-stars and Canada’s National Junior Team prospects in two weeks.


The two-game set, which was announced earlier this month, will take place at the MasterCard Centre in Toronto on Saturday, Dec. 12 at 7:30 p.m. EST and Sunday, Dec. 13 at noon EST, as part of the National Junior Team’s preparation for the 40th IIHF World Junior Championship, in Finland (Dec. 26 – Jan. 5).


The 23-player CIS lineup, including 20 with CHL experience, is comprised of eleven from the OUA conference and six apiece from the Atlantic University Sport and Canada West leagues.


Highlighting the university squad are two members of the reigning two-time University Cup champion Alberta Golden Bears, a pair of former NHL draft picks, as well as the current CIS leaders in scoring, goals and goaltending.


“I know I speak on behalf of our entire coaching staff when I say we’re very pleased with the makeup of this team,” said head coach Shawn Camp, from the University of Guelph. He'll be accompanied behind the bench by assistant coaches Darren Burns from Acadia, Brett Gibson from Queen’s and Mike Sirant from Manitoba. “In order to compete with the National Junior Team we need to have players who have speed, skill and mobility, and we certainly have that when you look at the individuals on this roster. We know these guys will compete hard and play with composure.”


Protecting the CIS net in Toronto will be goaltenders Kevin Bailie from Queen’s, Corbin Boes from Dalhousie and Jordon Cooke from Saskatchewan.


Bailie, a former CIS rookie of the year who played five OHL seasons with Oshawa and London, currently leads the nation in goals against average (1.79) and save percentage (.946) in nine conference games with the Gaels.


On defence, the eight-member unit includes Jordan Murray of UNB, Spencer Abraham of Queen’s, Kenny Bradford of Windsor, Tim Campbell of Lethbridge, Samuel Labrecque of McGill, Martin Lefebvre of UQTR, Matthew Pufahl of Acadia and Jordan Rowley of Alberta.          


Labrecque, in his second season with the Redmen after transferring from Clarkson (NCAA), leads all CIS skaters after 16 league games with a whopping 29 points (13-16-29) and nine power-play markers.


The 12 forwards selected are Guillaume Asselin of UQTR, Colin Behenna of Waterloo, Jordan DePape of Manitoba, Tyler Fiddler of Mount Royal, Liam Heelis of McGill, Olivier Hinse of Concordia, Eric Locke of St. Francis Xavier, Stephen MacAulay of Saint Mary’s, Chris Maniccia of Brock, Michael McNamee of Carleton, Kruise Reddick of Alberta, as well as Alex Saulnier of Moncton.


Asselin, who spent five campaigns in the QMJHL with Montreal and Chicoutimi, has a CIS-leading 15 goals in 16 OUA contests this fall, including a trio of game-winners.


Locke and MacAulay are both former NHL draft picks. The former was selected by Buffalo in the seventh round in 2013 (189th overall) after skating for Windsor, Barrie and Saginaw in the OHL, while the latter was chosen by St. Louis in the sixth round in 2010 (164th overall) after five QMJHL seasons with Saint John and Halifax.


Hockey Canada will announce the lineup of players invited to the National Junior Team selection camp on Dec. 1.


Name                           University       Hometown                  HT       WT      Age      CIS Elig.


 Kevin Bailie                 Queen’s           Belleville, Ont.                6-3       190      23        3

Corbin Boes                 Dalhousie         Saskatoon, Sask.           6-3       224      22        2

Jordon Cooke              Saskatchewan   Leduc, Alta.                   5-10     185      22        2

 Spencer Abraham        Queen’s           Campbellville, Ont.          5-10     172      22        2

Kenny Bradford           Windsor           St. Catharines, Ont.         6-2       225      24        4

Tim Campbell              Lethbridge       Thornhill, Ont.                 6-1       195      24        4

Samuel Labrecque       McGill             Granby, Que.                    5-6       182      23        5

Martin Lefebvre           UQTR              Terrebonne, Que.             5-11     193      23        3

Jordan Murray             UNB                Riverview, N.B.                6-1       205      22        3

Matthew Pufahl           Acadia             Saskatoon, Sask.             6-2       208      22        2

Jordan Rowley             Alberta             Edmonton, Alta.             6-0       185      25        5

 Guillaume Asselin        UQTR              Quebec City, Que.            5-11     194      23        3

Colin Behenna             Waterloo          Waterloo, Ont.                5-8       170      24        4

Jordan DePape             Manitoba         Winnipeg, Man.               6-0       190      23        3

Tyler Fiddler                Mount Royal    Prince Albert, Sask.         5-11     185      25        5

Liam Heelis                  McGill             Georgetown, Ont.           6-0       197      25        5

Olivier Hinse                Concordia        Sherbrooke, Que.           6-2       220      24        4

Eric Locke                   StFX                Toronto, Ont.                 5-10     185      22        2

Stephen MacAulay       Saint Mary’s    Cole Harbour, N.S.           6-2       185      23        3

Chris Maniccia             Brock               St. Catharines, Ont.       5-11     190      21        3

Michael McNamee       Carleton           Perth, Ont.                     6-2       191      23        3

Kruise Reddick             Alberta             Manor, Sask.                 5-9       185      25        5

Alex Saulnier               Moncton          Moncton, N.B.                5-11     191      23        3

Head Coach: Shawn Camp (University of Guelph)

Assistant Coach: Darren Burns (Acadia University)

Assistant Coach: Brett Gibson (Queen’s University)

Assistant Coach: Mike Sirant (University of Manitoba)