Congratulations UNB Hockey - Culligan and Maillet

Congratulations UNB Hockey - Culligan and Maillet

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR (A.J. MacAdam Trophy): Philippe Maillet, UNB

The Atlantic conference rookie of the year and recipient of the A.J. MacAdam Trophy for 2013-14 is UNB Varsity Reds forward Philippe Maillet.

In just his first year with the UNB program, Maillet, a native of Terrabone, Que., played in 26 games for the Varsity Reds, finishing first in team scoring and third overall in the AUS with 41 points.

He had the third most goals in the conference this season with 16 and the second most assists with 25.

"Phil was a welcome addition to our team and he made an immediate impact on our top line in helping a youthful UNB squad with twelve new members finish first in the AUS standings," said Varsity Reds head coach Gardiner MacDougall. "He is a dynamic player with high-end offensive talents but is also one of the top penalty killers in the AUS and was one of our most improved players throughout the season."

Maillet, who played four seasons with the QMJHL's Victoriaville Tigers before joining the Varsity Reds, becomes the ninth UNB player to be named the conference's top rookie. However, it is the first win for the Varsity Reds since 2007-08 when former UNB standout Hunter Tremblay took home the honours.

He will now look to become the third UNB player to be selected as the CIS rookie of the year later this month. Former Varsity Reds Kevin Young and Ryan Lindsay took home the national honour in 2003-04 amd 1997-98 respectively. The most recent player from the Atlantic conference to earn the award was StFX's Jason Bast in 2010-11.

MOST SPORTSMANLIKE PLAYER (Don Wells Trophy): Chris Culligan, UNB

UNB forward Chris Culligan has been chosen as the Atlantic University Sport most sportsmanlike player and recipient of the Don Wells Trophy for the second consecutive season.

Culligan, a fifth-year forward from Howie Centre, N.S., finished second in the AUS in goals this season with 17 and fourth overall in points with 40. His +21 plus/minus rating was the second best in the Atlantic conference.

In five season with the Varsity Reds, he has racked up 171 career points in 133 regular season games.

Culligan, the team captain, often receives a significant amount of attention from opposing teams as one of the league's top players, yet he remains disciplined, picking up just eight minor penalties this season.

"Chris has been the ultimate leader and sportsman during his five years at UNB," said Varsity Reds head coach Gardiner MacDougall. "He is the ultimate competitor and plays the game the right way on a consistent basis. He helped lead our team to a seventh straight first-place finish and had a career best season in helping achieve this feat."

Culligan is the third Varsity Reds player to receive this award. Dax MacLean (1997-98) and Peter MacKellar (1999-00) are the previous UNB players to have been recognized. A UNB player has yet to take home the R. W. Pugh Award as the CIS's most sportsmanlike player.

For complete listing on award winners go to

First Team All-Stars:
Goaltender - Evan Mosher, Acadia (3rd year - Conception Bay South, N.L.)
Defense - Reggie Traccitto, UPEI (4th year - Oakville, Ont.)
Defense - Chris Owens, Acadia (4th year - St. John's, N.L.)
Forward - Liam Heelis, Acadia (3rd year - Georgetown, Ont.)
Forward - Chris Culligan, UNB (5th year - Howie Centre, N.S.)
Forward - Mike Cazzola, Acadia (2nd year - Guelph, Ont.)

Second Team All-Stars:
Goaltender - Wayne Savage, UPEI (4th year - St. Thomas, Ont.)
Defense - Jordan Murray, UNB (1st year - Riverview, N.B.)
Defense - Jamie Doornbosch, Saint Mary's (3rd year - Richmond Hill, Ont.)
Forward - Eric Faille, Moncton (4th year - Lachine, Que.)
Forward - Phillippe Maillet, UNB (1st year - Terrabonne, Que.)
Forward - Chris Desousa, UPEI (3rd year - Mississauga, Ont.)

All-Rookie Team:
Goaltender - Brandon Glover, Acadia (Victoria, B.C.)
Defense - Jordan Murray, UNB (Riverview, N.B.)
Defense - Geoff Schemitsch, Acadia (Thornhill, B.C.)
Forward - Phillippe Maillet, UNB (Terrabonne, Que.)
Forward - Steven Beyers, Saint Mary's (Orangeville, Ont.)
Forward - Allain Saulnier, Moncton (Cap-Pelé, N.B.)