Congratulations UNB Basketball - Javon Masters

Congratulations UNB Basketball - Javon Masters

DR. PETER MULLINS TROPHY (rookie of the year): Javon Masters, UNB

A native of Kitchener, Ont., Masters is the first UNB player to win the Dr. Peter Mullins Trophy and only the third recipient from the AUS conference, after UPEI's Deontay Smith a year ago and Dalhousie's Shawn Plancke in 1993.

To say the 6-foot guard had an immediate impact in his university debut would be a major understatement. The arts student accomplished a rare feat by claiming the national scoring title as a freshman thanks to a spectacular average of 27.4 points per game, outscoring Acadia standout Owen Klassen by over seven points per outing in the AUS race. His stellar play earned him a spot on the first AUS all-star team and on the second all-Canadian squad, another rare feat for a first-year player.

Masters, who topped the Atlantic conference in three-point shooting percentage (42.4) and finished second in free-throw accuracy (88.8%), wasted no time making his way into the AUS record books. His 215 free throws made, the highest total in CIS this year, are a new season mark for the league, while his 547 total points rank second all-time. His 20 hits from the charity stripe on Nov. 15 against UPEI also rank second in AUS annals.

The 19-year-old, who was the most utilized player in the Maritimes and the second most in the country during the regular season with an average of 35.4 minutes per contest, helped the Varsity Reds finish with a .500 record (10-10) for the first time since 2003-04 and advance to the playoffs for only the second time in the last eight years.

"We are extremely pleased that Javon has been recognized for the outstanding season he has put together for the Varsity Reds," said head coach Brent Baker. "He has made a major impact on our program and will continue to do so as he progresses through his career at UNB. Leading the country in scoring as a freshman is a rare and special accomplishment."

McGill guard Dele Ogundokun, Brock forward Dani Elgadi and Alberta forward Mamadou Gueye were the other nominees.


Mike Moser Memorial Trophy (player of the year): Philip Scrubb, Carleton
Defensive player of the year: Thomas Scrubb, Carleton
Dr. Peter Mullins Trophy (rookie of the year):Javon Masters, UNB
Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy (coach of the year): Dave Smart, Carleton
Ken Shields Award (basketball, academics & community service): Harry Ezenibe, Saint Mary's

First Team

Pos. Athlete University Year Hometown Faculty

F Jordan Baker Alberta 5 Edmonton, Alta. Graduate Studies
F Terrell Evans Victoria 5 Las Vegas, Nev. Social Sciences
F Owen Klassen Acadia 5 Kingston, Ont. Kinesiology
F Lien Phillip Windsor 5 St. Marks, Grenada Business
G Philip Scrubb Carleton 4 Richmond, B.C. Commerce

Second Team

W Johnny Berhanemeskel Ottawa 4 Ottawa, Ont. Sociology
G Vincent Dufort McGill 3 Smiths Falls, Ont. Ph. & Health Education
F Tyson Hinz Carleton 5 Ottawa, Ont. Commerce
G Stephon Lamar Saskatchewan 4 San Diego, Calif. Arts & Science
G Javon Masters UNB 1 Kitchener, Ont. Arts

All-Rookie Team

F Andre Arruda Manitoba 1 Winnipeg, Man. University 1
F Dani Elgadi Brock 1 Waterloo, Ont. Visual Arts
F Mamadou Gueye Alberta 1 Quebec City, Que. Campus St. Jean
G Javon Masters UNB 1 Kitchener, Ont. Business Admin.
G Dele Ogundokun McGill 1 Hamilton, Ont. Eco. & Accounting