CIS Academic All Canadian Celebration

CIS Academic All Canadian Celebration
The UNB Varsity Reds held a special presentation earlier today to celebrate the academic success of those student-athletes who achieved Canadian Interuniversity Sport Academic All-Canadian status for their work during the 2011-2012 academic year.

Each student-athlete was presented with an official certificate from Canadian Interuniversity Sport and a cheque from the University of New Brunswick.  Making the presentations were Dr. Eddy Campbell, President and Vice Chancellor and Dr. Tony Secco, Vice President-Academic.

Academic All Canadian status is achieved at UNB by obtaining a 3.5 gpa or better while participating as a varsity athlete.  At the end of the last academic year 74 student athletes out of 202 (37%) were recognized by the CIS as Academic All Canadians at UNB.  This was a record high percentage since the inception of the program in 1990.

Left to right, front row: Katherine Baba, track and field; Olivia Babcock, volleyball; Rachael McCarvill, cross country/track and field; Paige Paulsen, volleyball; Vanja Mitrovic, volleyball; Dr. Eddy Campbell, President; Melissa Foster, basketball; Alison Chalke, basketball; Samantha Kaminski, basketball; Tilly Ettinger, basketball.

Middle row: Dr. Tony Secco, Vice President, Academic; James Murphy, cross country/track and field; Taylor Lamarche, cross country/track and field;  Jean Francois Godin, wrestling;  Vicky Baba, track and field; Cassandra Mooney, swimming; Jenna Dunfield-Wilband, swimming; Monica MacDonald, swimming; Scott Mills, swimming; Keeley Campbell, cross country/track and field; Danielle Losier, swimming;  Samantha Lagacy, soccer; Erin Bethune, soccer; Eden Vanderlaan, soccer; Emma Quigley, soccer; Melissa Hilchey, swimming; Shea Nordhem, soccer.

Back row: Catherine Tremblay, track and field; Seamus Bowen, hockey; Nicholas Larade, cross country/track and field; Juliana Vantelingen, swimming; Mike MacLean, hockey; Brett LeDrew, volleyball; Logan Keoughan, volleyball; Dan LaCosta, hockey; Yassin Shehab El Din, soccer; Roderick Ramsden, soccer; Dylan McLeod, swimming; Daniel Quiron, basketball; Jeffrey Retallick, cross country/track and field; John Richard, Director of Athletics.