Murray & Cleaves Named Top VReds Athletes

Murray & Cleaves Named Top VReds Athletes

(FREDERICTON, NB) Wrestler Allyssa Cleaves and defenceman Jordan Murray, of the 2016 CIS men’s hockey champions, were named female and male athlete of the year at the Varsity Reds annual Celebration of Excellence awards night.

A third year engineering student, from St. Stephen, NB, Cleaves won the Colin B. MacKay Shield, as female athlete of the year, following an impressive season on the mat.

She won a gold medal at the CIS wrestling championships, in the 48-kilo weight class. She was also named the outstanding female wrestler of the championships and a first team All-Canadian.

Sami Jo Bell, from the women’s soccer team, and Grace Annear, from track and field, were also finalists in the category.

Murray, a third year student from Riverview, NB, took home the James Downey Award, as UNB’s male athlete of the year.

He was named a first team AUS all star, a first-team All Canadian, CIS defenceman of the year and a tournament all star at the CIS championship.

Javon Masters, from the men’s basketball team, and Marcus Lees, from the men’s soccer team were the other finalists in the category.

Cody Timmons, of the men’s volleyball team, was awarded the prestigious Garnet Copeland Award.

The Copeland Award is given to the year’s top all-around student-athlete, taking into consideration excellence in academics, athletic performance and community leadership.

Timmons, from Lower Sackville, NS, has carried a cumulative 4.0 GPA into the fourth year of his Kinesiology studies while being among the leaders on the volleyball team.

He volunteers his time as a coach, working with young volleyball players, and volunteers at physio-therapy clinics both in Fredericton and his hometown.

Ben Gorringe, from men’s soccer, and Victoria Leblanc, from track and field, were named male and female rookies of the year.

Gorringe blossomed as a two-way player in his first campaign with the Varsity Reds. The Truro, NS, native started every game at the CIS championship, scoring one of the biggest goals of the tournament.

Alex Dubeau, from men’s hockey, and Tyronn King, of the basketball team, were also finalists in this category.

Leblanc, from Saint John, was AUS female rookie of the year and finalist for CIS rookie of the year. During the season, she established one individual school record and was part of two relay teams that lowered marks in the UNB record book. At the AUS track and field championships, she earned silver and bronze medals.

Volleyball player Megan Kuciak and soccer player Emily Burton were also finalists in the category.

Co-winners were announced for the Brunswickan Award, which honours graduating students with the highest cumulative GPA(at the end of the first term).

Alex Wall, from the men’s hockey team, and Nathalie Cecire, from the women’s track and field team, both recorded grade point averages of better than 4.1.

The contest was so close that judges were forced to look beyond the thousandths-of-a-point mark in hopes of determining a lone winner. Given the almost identical averages, a decision was made to honour both students.

Catherine Tremblay, of the women’s track and field team, and Matthew Short, from men’s wrestling, were recipients of the Director’s Unsung Hero Awards.

Tremblay gives countless hours to other teammates along with working to improve her own performance. Despite not always being chosen to travel to and compete at meets, her commitment to training and the team remains constant.

Short’s passion for his sport doesn’t go unnoticed. He often works with teammates who are preparing for major competitions. He arrives at every practice with a smile and positive attitude and he volunteers endless hours for the betterment of the sport and as a coach with young wrestlers.

The final award of the night, the James Born Award for considerable contributions to the Varsity Reds program, was presented to Dave Morell.

He recently retired, after more than 15 years as the Varsity Reds’ marketing and special events manager.


A full list of award winners follows:


Rings of Distinction: Hayley Gates(soccer), Marcus Lees(soccer), Diego Padilha(soccer), Jordan Murray(hockey), Philippe Maillet(hockey), Javon Masters(basketball)


Red and Black Awards:

Women’s Basketball:  Caroline Healy

Men’s Basketball:  Matthew Daley

Women’s Volleyball:  Lauren Joyce

Men’s Volleyball:  Tristen Burridge

Women’s Soccer:  Laura McNicholas

Men’s Soccer:  George Lawton

Men’s Hockey:  Taylor MacDougall

Men’s Track and Field:  Troy Wilson

Women’s Track and Field:  Nathalie Cecire

Women’s Swimming:  Marya Peters


UNB/Pepsi Rookies of the Year:

Women’s Basketball:  Grace Simpson

Men’s Basketball:  Tyronn King

Women’s Volleyball:  Megan Kuciak

Men’s Volleyball:  Francois Pitre Pelletier

Women’s Soccer:  Emily Burton

Men’s Soccer:  Ben Gorringe

Men’s Hockey:  Alex Dubeau

Women’s Track and Field:  Victoria Leblanc

Men’s Track and Field:  Liam Turgeon

Women’s Swimming:  Kayla Martin



Labatt Most Valuable Players:

Women’s Basketball:  Grace Wade

Men’s Basketball:  Javon Masters

Women’s Volleyball:  Maggie McLenahan

Men’s Volleyball:  Eivind Andersen

Men’s Hockey:  Jordan Murray

Women’s Track and Field:  Grace Annear

Men’s Track and Field:  Daniel Brown

Women’s Swimming:  Charli LeBlanc

Men’s Swimming:  Keelan Mooney

Women’s Wrestling:  Allyssa Cleaves

Men’s Wrestling:  Grayson St. Laurent

Women’s Cross Country:  Katie Robinson

Men’s Cross Country:  Joshua Shanks

Women’s Curling:  Shelby Wilson

Men’s Curling:  Chris Wagner

Women’s Soccer:  Sami Jo Bell

Men’s Soccer – Offensive MVP:  Marcus Lees

Men’s Soccer – Defensive MVP:  Diego Padilha


RHB McLaughlin All-Canadian Awards:

Grace Annear – 2nd team All-Canadian, women’s track and field

Marcus Lees – 2nd team All-Canadian, men’s soccer

Grayson St. Laurent – 2nd team All-Canadian, men’s wrestling

Jordan Murray – 1st team All-Canadian, CIS defencman of the year, men’s hockey

Allyssa Cleaves – 1st team All-Canadian, women’s wrestling

Javon Masters – 1st team All-Canadian, men’s basketball


Director’s Unsung Hero Award

Catherine Tremblay – women’s track and field

Matthew Short – men’s wrestling


Brunswickan Award

Alex Wall – men’s hockey

Nathalie Cecire – women’s track and field


James Born Award

David Morell